Katrina Abuabara, PI

Dr. Abuabara is a physician-scientist with clinical expertise in inflammatory skin disease and training in dermatology, sociology, and epidemiology. Her team uses multimodal data and advanced analytic methods to understand the determinants and long-term outcomes of chronic inflammatory skin disease. 

Dr. Abuabara attended Stanford University where she received a bachelor’s degree in human biology and a master’s degree in sociology. She was awarded a Fulbright Fellowship in 2002 and worked in public health research in Latin America before matriculating at Harvard Medical School, receiving her MD in 2010. She completed her residency and master’s degree in clinical epidemiology in 2015 at the University of Pennsylvania. She is a recipient of the Amos Medical Faculty Award from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, was named the 2019 American Academy of Dermatology Young Investigator of the Year, and is a recipient of the National Academy of Medicine’s Healthy Longevity Global Grand Challenge.  

Dr. Abuabara is an Associate Editor for the British Journal of Dermatology and serves as Chair of the International Eczema Council Research Committee and Chair of the American Academy of Dermatology Diversity Committee.



Team Members:

Morgan Ye, MPH

Nathalia Hoffman, MD

Brenda Chiang, BA 

Judy Shan, BS 

Rachita Pandya, BA 

Richard Kim, BS

Sheng-Pei Wang, MD, MPH

Aheli Chattopadhyay, BS  

Ahnna Lee, PhD 

Karen Li, MPH 

Hannah Kang, BE

Emma Doan, BA



Faustine Ramirez, MD  

Chloe Kern, MD 

Noor Al-Alusi, MD, MPH

Shelly Chen, BS 


Camila Ortiz, MD, M.Ed

Christopher Huebner, BS

 Ben Stroebel, MPH  

Janelle Tully, MD  

Andrea Leung, BA, MPH  



 Mohsen Baghchechi, MD

Yong Lee, MD 

Leslie Chen, MD 

Pearl Ojiugo Ugwu-Dike, MD



 Stephanie Adame, BS 

Shreya Sreekantaswamy, MD 

Andrea Gelabert-Mora, BS 

Michael Johanis, BS